Sunday 01 October 2023
Select a region

Breaking: Close call for Gorst and Ozouf as Bailhache looks favourite to top the poll

Breaking: Close call for Gorst and Ozouf as Bailhache looks favourite to top the poll

Wednesday 15 October 2014

Breaking: Close call for Gorst and Ozouf as Bailhache looks favourite to top the poll

Wednesday 15 October 2014

Sir Philip Bailhache looks set to top tonight’s Senatorial poll according to an exclusive exit poll by Bailiwick Express.

That poll also predicts that the Island’s two most senior politicians, Senators Ian Gorst and Philip Ozouf will be re-elected, but possibly only in the final three successful candidates.

During the course of election day 300 voters were surveyed about how they had voted – and as expected, it looks to have been a good night for the sitting Senators.

The exit poll suggests that Deputies Sean Power and John Young will crash out of the States after bidding for “promotion” to the Senatorial benches.

If the exit poll results are mirrored by tonight’s official count, Senator Bailhache tops the poll, closely followed by Senator Alan Maclean and Deputy Andrew Green. Senators Lyndon Farnham and Paul Routier also retain their seats, in fourth and fifth positions.

But then comes the Chief Minister, Senator Ian Gorst in sixth, Treasury Minister Senator Philip Ozouf in seventh and Senator Sarah Ferguson in eighth. But newcomer Dr Zoe Cameron is only a few votes behind her, making that last spot too close to call. Unless Dr Cameron – or Malcolm Ferey, the Citizens’ Advice Bureau head – make it in to the top eight, tonight’s election will be the first since 2002 that has not seen an outsider make it into the States.

It might also be a disappointing night for Reform Jersey in the Senatorial contest, with their candidate, Anne Southern finishing in 14th place in the exit poll.

The full results of the survey – carried out at different polling stations throughout a wet election day – for the top eight candidates are as follows: 

The Results

  1. Senator Sir Philip Bailhache (International Relations Minister).
  2. Senator Alan Maclean (Economic Development Minister).
  3. Deputy Andrew Green (Housing Minister).
  4. Senator Lyndon Farnham (Assistant Home Affairs Minister).
  5. Senator Paul Routier (Assistant Chief Minister).
  6. Senator Ian Gorst (Chief Minister).
  7. Senator Philip Ozouf (Treasury Minister).
  8. Senator Sarah Ferguson.
  9. Dr Zoe Cameron.
  10. Deputy Sean Power.
  11.  Deputy John Young.
  12.  Malcolm Ferey.
  13. Geoff Habin.
  14. Anne Southern.
  15. Chris Magee.
  16. Guy de Faye.
  17. Konrad Kruszynski.
  18. David Richardson.

Click here for our 'Live Election Blog' »


Sign up to newsletter



Comments on this story express the views of the commentator only, not Bailiwick Publishing. We are unable to guarantee the accuracy of any of those comments.

Once your comment has been submitted, it won’t appear immediately. There is no need to submit it more than once. Comments are published at the discretion of Bailiwick Publishing, and will include your username.

There are no comments for this article.

To place a comment please login

You have landed on the Bailiwick Express website, however it appears you are based in . Would you like to stay on the site, or visit the site?