Wednesday 30 November 2022
Select a region

#JSY2018: Almost half of Deputies and Constables elected are 'new' faces

#JSY2018: Almost half of Deputies and Constables elected are 'new' faces

Thursday 17 May 2018

#JSY2018: Almost half of Deputies and Constables elected are 'new' faces

Thursday 17 May 2018

It's going to be a very different looking States Assembly.

13 - almost half of the 29 Deputies that sit in the States - are new faces. As are half of the 12 Constables.

Sixteen ‘old’ faces have been returned as Deputies, but 13 ‘new’ faces – some of them previous States members – will be joining them. No Deputy seeking re-election was voted out of office. The new faces came about because so many States members had decided not to seek re-election as Deputies, or had opted to go for Senator instead.

The ‘new’ faces are: John Young (St Brelade No1); Rowland Huelin (St Peter), Trevor Pointon (St John); Hugh Raymond (Trinity); Jess Perchard (St Saviour No3); Rob Ward and Carina Alves (St Helier No2); Kevin Pamplin (St Saviour No1); Lindsay Ash (St Clement); Kirsten Morel and Gregory Guida (St Lawrence); and Mary Le Hegarat and Steve Ahier (St Helier 3/4).


PICTURED: The 'new' faces (clockwise, starting top left) Constable-elect Mike Jackson, Constable-elect John Le Baily, Constable-elect Richard Buchanan; Deputy-elect Steve Ahier, Constable-elect Richard Vibert, Constable-elect Karen Stone.


PICTURED: The 'new' faces (clockwise, starting top left) Deputy-elect John Young, Deputy-elect Rowland Huelin, Deputy-elect Hugh Raymond; Deputy-elect Rob Ward, Deputy-elect Jess Perchard, Deputy-elect Trevor Pointon.


PICTURED: The 'new' faces (clockwise, starting top left) Deputy-elect Carina Alves, Deputy-elect Kevin Pamplin, Deputy-elect Kirsten Morel, Deputy-elect Mary Le Hegarat, Deputy-elect Gregory Guida, Deputy-elect Lindsay Ash.

The previous politicians returning are: Steve Luce (St Martin); Carolyn Labey (Grouville); Richard Renouf (St Ouen); David Johnson (St Mary); Kevin Lewis and Louise Doublet (St Saviour No2); Geoff Southern (St Helier No2); Jeremy Macon (St Saviour No1); Monty Tadier and Graham Truscott (St Brelade No2); Susie Pinel (St Clement); Judy Martin, Russell Labey, and Scott Wickenden (St Helier No1); and Richard Rondel and Mike Higgins (St Helier 3/4).

Eleven of the island's Constables were returned unopposed. Of those seven were sitting constables - Deidre Mezbourian, Philip Le Sueur, John Le Maistre, Simon Crowcroft, Saidie Le Sueur-Rennard, Chris Taylor, and Len Norman. The other four were 'newcomers' - Karen Stone, Richard Buchanan, Richard Vibert, and Mike Jackson. Only in St Mary was there a contested election - with former Deputy John Le Bailly ousting sitting Constable Juliette Gallichan.

Sign up to newsletter



Comments on this story express the views of the commentator only, not Bailiwick Publishing. We are unable to guarantee the accuracy of any of those comments.

Once your comment has been submitted, it won’t appear immediately. There is no need to submit it more than once. Comments are published at the discretion of Bailiwick Publishing, and will include your username.

Posted by William Boyd on
St Helier - electors 17,000, States members - 11 (10 deputies and the constable). St Mary - electors 1,300 - states members - 2 (a deputy and a constable). Doing the sums it takes 1,545 voters in St Helier to elect a States member whilst in St Mary it takes 650. This is a scandal. No wonder the country parishes rule the roost and don't want change.
Posted by Michael Connolly on
When will Jersey get in the 21st century. 11 cons tables reelected unopposed. Get them out.
To place a comment please login

You have landed on the Bailiwick Express website, however it appears you are based in . Would you like to stay on the site, or visit the site?